How to give different deal room members different access in the deal room? How to create and edit member (access) groups?

There are two default access levels in every created deal room — ‘Member’ and ‘Admin’. Admins have full access to deal room Settings and all functionalities in the deal room while Members have limited access. You can change the access of each member by assigning them to the corresponding member group. This can be done by going to the 'Members' section in your deal room and choosing to edit a member (the 'Edit' button is available in the menu that can be opened from the arrow at the end of the row).

It is also possible to create more custom access groups and edit the rights and names of the existing ones as well as delete the existing ones. To do that, open your deal room, go to the 'Members' section, open the menu from the arrow in the right top corner of your members list and choose 'Groups setup'. Alternatively, you can access the groups configurator from deal room 'Settings' > 'Preferences' > 'Deal room setup' > 'Member groups setup'. There, you can create new groups and configure the following access for each group: 

Companies access
No access (cannot see any company applications in the deal room)
View companies (can view company applications in discover, funnel and database steps they have access to)
View and communicate (can view company applications in discover, funnel and database steps they have access to and contact companies using the chat functionality)
View companies and create funding rounds (can view applications in the deal room; can create and edit funding rounds, when activity access is also marked as full access)
Full edit access (in addition to 'View companies and create funding rounds' rights can move company applications in the funnel, send emails to companies, request more information from companies, manage tags, tasks and assignees of company applications, add information to company applications for internal use in the deal room, lock/unlock company changes, add companies to the deal room)

Members access
No access (cannot see the list of other members)
View names (can only see the names of other deal room members and send them emails)
View members (can see the list of other deal room members together with their contact details and investor profiles (if available) and send them emails)
Full edit access (in addition to 'View members' rights, can add members, remove members, change members' access, add tags and notes to members)

Activity access
No access (cannot access company chat, comments, funding interests, voting or internal documents)
Full access (can view and add comments and funding interests on company applications, can read and write in company chat, can see internal documents attached to company applications)

Portfolio access
No access (cannot access any portfolio information)
View own investments (each member can see only those portfolio companies he/she has invested in and the size of his/her investment)
View own investments and all companies (can view funding round level information about all companies in portfolio and detailed information about own participation in funding rounds)
View own investments and all member names (can view funding round level information about all companies in portfolio, names of investors who invested in each funding round and detailed information about own participation in funding rounds)
View everything (can view all portfolio companies together with information about which members and how much have invested in each deal)
Full edit access (can view all portfolio companies together with information about which members and how much invested in each deal and edit portfolio information)

Events access
View invited to (view the events which participants lists they're included in)
View events (view all deal room events except for those which visibility has been limited to participants only)
Full access (set up and edit events and invite participants)

Documents access
No access (no access to the deal room's documents section)
View documents (view deal room documents)
Full access (upload and manage deal room documents)

Dashboard access
No access (cannot access the deal room dashboard)
View dashboard (can view deal room dashboard)
Full access (can view deal room dashboard, post updates and edit the intro section on the dashboard)

Settings access
No access (cannot access deal room settings)
Full access (can change deal room’s preferences, setup and billing info, edit deal room’s profile, and export and import data, view activity logs)

You can also configure the accessibility of each funnel step to different member groups and what level of company applications each group can see in a specific funnel step. That can be done when you go to 'Steps access' in 'Member groups setup'.

Lastly, you can configure member groups’ visibility to member groups. This is applicable for groups whose members access has been configured as ‘View names’ or higher. To configure member groups’ visibility to member groups, go to ‘Groups access’ in ‘Member groups setup’. In the dialogue that opens, you can disable visibility of specific member groups to any chosen groups or choose what level of information they can see about members who belong to any specific group. The latter is applicable only when the groups’ members access has been configured as ‘View members’ or higher. Almost all investor profile information is visible with the level ‘Overview’. That level only excludes answers to the questions “Your background”, “Indicative annual investment amount” (if this question has been activated in your member application form for the specific group), address questions that are more detailed than city (if used) and any custom questions you have asked your account manager to add to your member application form with the ‘Details’ access level.

Can I add external experts/partners to my deal room and make only some of the data visible to/hide internal data from them?

You can create a separate member group for such people and limit the rights and access of that group. You can find the instructions for creating and editing member groups and their rights and access from the paragraph above.

Can I add members to my deal room and hide all the data from them?

You can create create a member group that doesn't have access to deal room content by configuring companies access as ‘View companies’, other access types as ‘No access’ and disabling their access to all funnel steps in ‘Steps access’.

You can learn more about adding and managing members from this video.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!